Internship, uranium and neon chicken

Back in Stockholm with family, friends, sushi, cinema, night life, and everything else the city has to offer. My internships are pretty much in place; next week I’m going to swedish artist Lott Alfreds. She works in different materials and techniques, such as glass, graphics, sculpture etc, and also likes to combine them. As you know if you’ve seen some of my work, it’s one of the things I’m fond of, so I’m really looking forward to work with her.

From her current exhibition in Berlin:

Below is one of my own mixed media pieces, from the snow globe project I’ve worked with earlier this year. It’s what I call a “bling preparation”, with a cast, transparent glass chicken, water, heart shaped sequins and pearl string. It’s an attempt to work with contradictory emotions and reactions, such as a decorative object that in the same time can be perceived as repulsive. The sequins also coloured the water in a strong, pink neon shade that I’m quite happy about.

Formaline chic, 2010

~ by matildakastel on March 16, 2010.

Leave a comment